CUT#23 • Baldruin – Portal LP

Limited and numbered ed. of 260 LPs, pressed on 180gr crystal clear vinyl and packed in a thick, uncoated sleeve featuring a 2-color artwork designed collaboratively by Baldruin & Wounded Knife. Includes D/L card and insert.


Baldruin, the nocturnal brainchild of Johannes Schebler, came into life in 2009 and instantly a unique surrealistic sonic topography was mapped out: through the dense undergrowth of synthesizer sounds and various misty noises a more and more detailed world of sound revealed itself with every new release during the past six years – full of bells chiming, voices calling, pipes whistling and seductive percussive elements. Accordingly Baldruin’s music has a very cinematic quality recalling the psychic soundtracks of Goblin, the feverish exotica of Jodorowsky’s „Holy Mountain“ or the occult “Themes“ of Psychic TV. „Portal“, Baldruin’s first vinyl release, follows this musical path in somnabulistic certainty towards a slighty more airy horizon. The journey’s not come to an end yet, „Portal“ opens a new chapter in the ongoing saga of Baldruin’s Bavarian Gothic.

PRESS: DecoderWeedtemple | Norman Records |  Screenagers (PL) | A Closer Listen
Kultura Staroci (PL) | Was Ist DAS? | Lost In A Sea Of Sound | Scene Point Blank | Sonic Masala | Skug (DE)


1. Im Verlies
2. Night Vision
3. Splitterbruch
4. Auf der Lauer
5. Deus Ex Machina
6. Keine Körper, aber Seelen
7. Tanz der Elektronen

8. No Escape
9. Wüstensturm
10. Fäulnis
11. Elektrobahn auf Abwegen
12. Durchs Dickicht
13. Unter Druck
14. Kalte Zeit
15. Abschied

All tracks recorded in Wiesbaden, Germany in 2014.

Electronics, acoustic instruments and voice by Johannes Schebler.
Lyrics on “Keine Körper, aber Seelen” & “Fäulnis” by Johannes Schebler.
Lyrics on “No Escape” taken from the poem “Night Shift” by Sylvia Plath.

Mastering by Jan Stütz.